Modest Mouse: No One’s First And You’re Next

Modest Mouse is set to put out a few unreleased tracks from their past two albums as well as some B-side material. B-side material is always something to be excited about for almost every band, containing the less commercial more experiment side of a band. With No One’s First And You’re Next we get a solid compilation of the best the band has to offer. If anything at all, No One’s First And You’re Next is a great introduction to Modest Mouse newcomers. These are not the overplayed tracks we are all so familiar with… Float On. These tracks are quite fresh, for those of us who do not listen to artists B-sides or even pick up singles. Which in this case is a good thing, since this compilation of unreleased or semi-unreleased songs is… good. Mind you, this album is small only having eight tracks so you shouldn’t be expecting a Good News for People Who Love Bad News, sized offering. Though, No One’s First And You’re Next is a must have for any Modest Mouse aficionado and makes for a introduction to the band’s pleasant musical style, with its near barking vocals and imaginative incorporation of instruments and melodies. One of the featured tracks King Rat has a dead celebrity connection, as Heath Leger’s production company was connected with the making of the music video for that song. Great songs from this album are, Guilty Cocker Spaniels, Autumn Beds, History Sticks To Your Feet.
No One’s First And You’re Next: Track List
1. Satellite Skin
2. Guilty Cocker Spaniels
3. Autumn Beds
4. The Whale Song
5. Perpetual Motion Machine
6. History Sticks To Your Feet
7. King Rat
8. I've Got It All (Most)

No comments: