Arctic Monkeys: A Review of Humbug 2009

Solid. This is how you could describe the Arctic Monkeys’ upcoming album Humbug. May it’s because it has been a long time since hearing an album from this band, this album insights visions of Oasis of the good years and of more current bands like My Morning Jacket. Nobody likes direct comparisons, so remember Humbug insights visions not comparisons to the other bands mentioned. Arctic Monkeys received a large amount of attention for their first major song release I Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor only to be somewhat forgotten by the rest of the world in the years following. Originally the sound of the band was rough in execution and considerably more static in its content, not so for Humbug. The Arctic Monkeys have refined there sound not to any point of annoyance, but to the point and station of precision that musicians seem to attain over time. Humbug has a permeating tone that rests comfortably between the now and the then. In that it incorporates certain characteristics more associated with psychedelic rock of years gone by while retaining much of what made them so popular in recent years. Humbug is a solid album and may even get better over time, certain song off of the album deserve special attention, Crying Lightning, Secret Door and Cornerstone.

Release Date: August 30th 2009
Track List
1. My Propeller
2. Crying Lightning
3. Dangerous Animals
4. Secret Door
5. Potion Approaching
6. Fire And The Thud
7. Cornerstone
8. Dance Little Lair
9. Pretty Visitors
10. The Jeweller’s Hands

No comments: