Sunset Rubdown: Dragonslayer

Sunset Rubdown is about to come out with a new album entitled Dragonslayer on June 23rd. The band, lead by one of Wolf Parade's co-lead singers' Spencer Krug, has already released two full length albums. The latest of which only having eight tracks you may think that you are being cheated. That is until you hear what the foursome has produced. Dragonslayer holds true to the vision of Spencer Krug, leaving the listener feeling engulfed in the wonderful yelping anarchy which is Sunset Rubdown, yet the tracks are not as extended as some from previous albums. The work of Sunset Rubdown is the finished expression only touched upon in Krug’s other band, Wolf Parade’s, fantastic album, Apologies to Queen Marry. More specifically, you can hear the beginning of Sunset Rubdown in one song in particular, I Believe In Anything. It really does seem like the touchstone for the musical philosophy of Sunset Rubdown. To say this album’s style is just synth/psychedelic rock is a misstatement, it is many things, as with all of Sunset Rubdown’s albums you never really know what type of musical instrument or turn of phrase will be in a song. “When someone says f*** me, someone else says O.K.” upon hearing this lyric in one of their former albums, Shut Up I Am Dreaming, you will fall in love with this band. What a pleasant shock it was to hear that phrase after an extended instrumental part in the The Men Are Called Horsemen There. Camilla Wynne Ingr takes on a more noticeable role in this album to a pleasant affect; her soft voice curbs the often overpowering lyrical delivery of Krug. Track to look out for in Dragonslayer, Idiot Heart, Pager Lace, You Go on Ahead (Trumpet Trumpet II), and the ten minute twenty-eight second monster of a track Dragon’s Lair. Dragonslayer is a great addition to any indie library. If you are of the Wolf Parade persuasion then Sunset Rubdown’s Dragonslayer is a must have.
Release Date: June 23rd 2009.

Track List
1. Silver Moons
2. Idiot Heart
3. Apollo And The Buffalo and Anna Anna Oh!
4. Black Swan
5. Paper Lace
6. You Go On Ahead (Trumpet Trumpet II)
7. Nightingale _December Song
8. Dragon's Lair

No comments: